Logpoint product licensing

The product licensing described here is valid as of July 9, 2024. 

Logpoint server licensing is simple, predictable and based on the number of devices sending logs.  

We use three licensing metrics for Logpoint SIEM: 

  • Nodes 
  • Cloud Nodes 
  • Other Devices 

We use one licensing metric for Logpoint Add-ons: 

  • Entities   


Nodes represent devices or assets from which Logpoint ingests log data. Examples include servers, firewalls, data center switches, and certain types of IoT devices.  
Nodes do not typically represent single-user systems, like workstations. 

Cloud Nodes 

Cloud nodes represent a log source for ingesting data from a subset of cloud service providers, including infrastructure as a service (IaaS), platform as a service (PaaS) and software as a service (SaaS).  

Logpoint calculates cloud nodes based on the listed cloud service providers and their products or services. One cloud product application in the list typically corresponds to one cloud node. 

Hyperscaler cloud services provided by Microsoft, AWS, and Google are priced differently. These services are categorized into four service types: Infrastructure and Operational, Security and identity, Productivity, and AI and ML. Each service type represents one cloud node and accepts logs from all services in the category.   

The table below lists cloud nodes. Any product application or service not listed is considered a node. 

Cloud Service Provider
Cisco 1 node
ZScaler 1 node
Salesforce 1 node
IBM cloud and any other hyperscaler other than those listed below 1 node
Hyperscaler Cloud Services
Vendor/Type Infrastructure and Operational Security and Identity Productivity AI and ML
  • Analytics
  • Compute
  • Containers
  • Databases
  • Developer tools
  • DevOps
  • Hybrid + multicloud
  • Integration
  • IOT
  • Media
  • Migration
  • Mixed reality
  • Mobile
  • Networking
  • Storage
  • Virtual Desktop
  • Web
  • Security (MS Defender Sentinel WAF for example)
  • Identity Management and Governance
  • M365
  • AI and ML Service
  • Analytics
  • Application Integrations
  • Blockchain
  • Compute
  • Containers
  • Database
  • Developer Tools
  • End User Computing
  • Front-End Web & Mobile
  • Internet of Things
  • Management & Governance
  • Media Services
  • Migration & Transfer
  • Networking & Content Delivery
  • Quantum Technologies
  • Robotics
  • Satellite
  • Storage
  • Cloud Financial Management
  • Security Identity & Compliance: GuardDuty, Cognito for example
  • Business Applications
  • Machine Learning
  • Google Cloud Platform (all services except security and identity and AI and Machine learning)
  • Security and Identity
  • Chronicle
  • Google Workspace
  • AI and Machine Learning

Note: Logpoint may update what is considered a cloud node according to market dynamics, including but not limited to when a new product application or service is launched or when an existing product application or service is updated. 

Other Devices 

Other devices are assets, devices, or cloud services that can’t be categorized as nodes or cloud nodes.   

Other devices typically include: 

  • Devices intended primarily to be used by a single business user, for example workstations, such as desktop and laptop computers under control of a non-server OS, consumer smartphones and tables.  
  • Devices used for connection to servers and services, including terminal devices and thin clients.  
  • Printers or any other specialized low-traffic hardware.  


Entities are a flexible licensing metric for Logpoint Add-ons: Automation, Case Management and Behavior Analytics. Entities can represent either the number of employees or the number of workstations in a company or department.  

Customers can choose between:  

  • Employee-based entity licensing  
    Ideal for businesses with many IT or office workers  
  • Workstation-based entity licensing  

Ideal for companies with non-IT or non-office workers  

Note: Logpoint product licensing is based on current market dynamics and is subject to change.